Jain Temples, Jaisalmer

Jain Temples, Jaisalmer

Jain Temple Jaisalmer is one of the most famous destinations in the desert city. The temples are located in the Jaisalmer Fort and dedicated to various Jain Tirthankaras. There are a total of 7 temples and each reflects stunning architectural designs. Right from the entrance to the roofs and tombs, each and every part of the temple is decorated with mirrors, paintings, carvings, etc.

Built-in the late 12th and 15th centuries, the Jain temple is based on the Dilwara temple style including the curved figure of humans and animals. You can also see a Gyan Bhandar and a library in the temple that attract the tourists in large number.

The seven temples are connected to each other and the yellow sandstone made temples are in no way inferior to the marble-made temple in Ranakpur and Mt Abu. In some respect, Jain Temple Jaisalmer is more beautiful than other temples in Rajasthan. 

After entering the complex, the first temple is Chandraprabhu located beside the ticket house. This temple is dedicated to the 8th Tirthankar and as the moon is his symbol the temple is named Chandraprabhu. The second in the line is the Rikhabdev temple located on the right side of the Chandraprabhu. Then comes the Parasnath behind the Chandraprabhu which you need to enter through a beautifully carved Torana. On the right side of this temple is Shitalnath, dedicated to the 10th Tirthankara and on the left side is the Sambhavanth temple. The other two temples are Shantinath and Kunthunath from where you can access to the underground library to witness the priceless ancient manuscript.

The temple is also known as the Lodurva Jain Temple Jaisalmer as Lodurva was the capital of ancient Vatti Rajput rulers. The temple remains open all day of the week from early morning till noon.

Sightseeing and Things To Do in Jaisalmer

Popular Tours In Jaisalmer

Yes Plan my Trip!
May I help you?
Tour Planner